I have an editor!

Yes I feel very important, you guys have all been reading my unedited stories (and probably laughing at my mistakes).  Now I am going to have this current ‘Girl on the Beach’ story published on-line in a professional manner, edited and squeaky clean with a front cover and everything.  I hope someone buys it! Watch out of  ‘Flat Country Snow’. Its short and a little different. I may publish the ‘raw and unedited’ version on my blog…….feedback please. Good or bad, I need opinions. Happy Reading my friends.

12 thoughts on “I have an editor!

  1. I am using a company called DarkFireProductions.com The are going to e-publish my book in several places. They referred me to someone to do the editing for me, which I didn’t realize how much I needed until I saw what she did to with my first chapter. They will also refer someone to do the cover. Not too sure about total costs yet. I will have to do my owne marketing, which I am learning to do. Editing will be around $450. My book is about twenty two thousand words. Short story. Let me know if you have any more questions, or I can help in any way.

    • Thanks so much for answering my question!

      I would also like to get published in the future, but as I understand it, I need an agent to help me sign up with a publishing company.

      Is Dark Fire considered independent publishing if you’re paying for this out-of-pocket and doing your own marketing? Various sites I’ve read seem to either praise independent publishing or say it won’t get you very far. I’m not sure since I’m new to all this; I just love writing.

      I hope your book becomes very successful! I have a long way to go in reading the chapters you’ve posted here, but I’m looking forward to it. Would you like to be on each other’s blog roll? I’d like to add you to my links so that others will come to your blog!

      — Gally

  2. For e-publishing you don’t need an agent. You can actually put a book on Amazon for Kindle yourself, you just set up an account.

    DarkFire I believe, are fairly new and they only charge $50 to epublish in several places like Barnes and Nobel, but they don’t market for you. I am still learning the marketing process, but will share my experiences as I go through it. Don’t give up on your writing, it is theraputic and may be a hobby that makes you money. Lets be on each others blog roll we can help each other along.

  3. Hey! I just found this and wanted to share it with you.

    http://www.harpercollins.com/

    You know Harper Collins, the publishing company? They have a website for new authors to showcase their work and possibly get a publishing deal. It’s free, so I’m going to sign up after I get the 10,000 words they require. I feel that my new story has enough content to get to 10k words eventually :3

    — Gally

  4. Hey! I just found this and wanted to share it with you.

    http://www.authonomy.com/

    You know Harper Collins, the publishing company? They have a website for new authors to showcase their work and possibly get a publishing deal. It’s free, so I’m going to sign up after I get the 10,000 words they require. I feel that my new story has enough content to get to 10k words eventually :3

    — Gally

  5. You are also a very talented artist. Good luck, lets stay in touch, I may try some trade fares also. Maybe we can get a group of new authors together, meet up and sell our books that way.

Leave a Reply

